Skip to main content
Have a personal or library account? Click to login
Cost-effectiveness of digital breast tomosynthesis versus digital mammography for breast cancer screening: a systematic literature review Cover

Cost-effectiveness of digital breast tomosynthesis versus digital mammography for breast cancer screening: a systematic literature review

Open Access
|Aug 2026
Read online

Figures & Tables

Table 1.

Eligibility criteria

PICOSInclusion criteriaExclusion criteria
PopulationAsymptomatic female
  • - History of breast cancer or high-risk lesions (i.e., DCIS, LCIS, ADH, ALH)

  • - Presence of significant genetic predispositions or syndromes associated with high risk for breast cancer (e.g., BRCA1/2 gene mutations, Li-Fraumeni syndrome)

  • - History of therapeutic chest radiation (20 Gy or more) before age 30 years

InterventionDBT with/without DM- Imaging is specifically used for diagnostic or surveillance purposes
ComparatorDM alone- DM combined with any other supplemental screening modality
Outcomes
  • - Costs

  • - Effectiveness outcomes (QALYs or LYs)

  • - Incremental costs

  • - Incremental effectiveness (QALYs or LYs)

  • - ICER

- NA
Study designsFull economic evaluation, including CUA and CEA
  • - CBA

  • - Partial economic evaluation

LimitPeer-reviewed articles
  • - Gray literature

  • - Editorials, reviews, and commentaries

  • - No full-text available

[i] ADH, atypical ductal hyperplasia; ALH, atypical lobular hyperplasia; CBA, cost-benefit analysis; CEA, cost-effectiveness analysis; CUA, cost-utility analysis; DBT, digital breast tomosynthesis; DCIS, ductal carcinoma in situ; DM, digital mammography; Gy, gray (unit); ICER, incremental cost-effectiveness ratio; LCIS, lobular carcinoma in situ; LYs, life years; NA, not applicable; QALYs, quality-adjusted life years.

Table 2.

Databases searched

DatabasesDate parameters
MEDLINE via Ovid1946–June 18, 2025
Embase via Ovid1974–June 18, 2025
EB Health –KSR Evidence via Ovid2015–2025 week 24
Cochrane Library via WileyInception to present
NHS EED via https://www.crd.york.ac.uk/CRDWeb/Inception to March 2015
CEA registry via https://cear.tuftsmedicalcenter.orgInception to present
RePEc IDEAS via https://ideas.repec.orgInception to present

[i] CEA, cost-effectiveness analyses; CRD, Centre for Reviews and Dissemination; NHS EED, National Health Service Economic Evaluation Database.

Figure 1.

PRISMA flow diagram for study selection.

CEA, cost-effectiveness analyses; CUA, cost-utility analyses; HTA, health technology assessment; LYG, life years gained; NHSEED, National Health Service Economic Evaluation Database.

Table 3.

Characteristics of included studies

PublicationCountryStudy populationInterventionScreening intervalPrimary economic evaluation outcomeIndustry funding
Chung et al. 2024 [13]TaiwanWomen aged 40–69 yearsDBT-DMBiennialICERNo
Couto et al. 2024 [23]BrazilWomen aged 40–69 years with BI-RADS B or CDBT with s2DBiennialICERSiemens Healthineers
Cressman et al. 2021 [47]CanadaWomen aged 40–74 yearsDBT-DMBiennialICERNo
Fridhammar et al. 2025 [49]SwedenWomen aged 40–74 yearsDBT1.5–2 yearsRelative reduction in breast cancer mortality for DBT to be cost effectiveNo
Kalra et al. 2016 [25]USAWomen aged 40–79 yearsDBT-DMAnnualICERNo
Lee et al. 2015 [24]USAWomen aged 50–74 years with dense breastsDBT-DMBiennialICERNo
Lowry et al. 2020 [44]USAWomen aged 40–79 yearsDBT-DM1–2 yearsICERNo
Moger et al. 2022 [48]NorwayWomen aged 50–69 yearsDBT with s2DBiennialICERNo
Sankatsing et al. 2020 [45]NetherlandsWomen aged 50–74 yearsDBTBiennialICERNo
Wang et al. 2020 [46]NetherlandsWomen aged 50–75 yearsDBTBiennialSensitivity at which DBT would be cost effectiveNo

[i] DBT, digital breast tomosynthesis; DBT-DM, DBT combined with DM; DM, digital mammography; ICER, incremental cost-effectiveness ratio; s2D, synthesized two-dimensional mammography.

Table 4.

Model characteristics

PublicationEvaluation typeModel typePerspectiveTime horizon (years)Discount rate (%)Cost estimationCurrency, cost year
Chung et al. 2024 [13]CUAState transition cohort modelSocietal302Direct and indirect$, 2021
Couto et al. 2024 [23]CUADecision tree with state transition modelPayer305Direct€, 2023
Cressman et al. 2021 [47]CUAState transition cohort modelPayer403DirectC$, 2019
Fridhammar et al. 2025 [49]CUAUnclearPayerLifetime3Direct€, 2022
Kalra et al. 2016 [25]CUAState transition cohort modelPayerLifetime3Direct$, 2015
Lee et al. 2015 [24]CUADiscrete event simulationPayerLifetime3Direct$, 2013
Lowry et al. 2020 [44]CUADiscrete event simulation and analytical approachPayerLifetime3Direct$, 2018
Moger et al. 2022 [48]CEADecision tree modelNR104Direct€, 2018
Sankatsing et al. 2020 [45]CEAMicrosimulationNRLifetime3.5Direct€, 2020
Wang et al. 2020 [46]CEAMicrosimulationNRLifetime3Direct€, NR

[i] $, US dollar; €, Euro; C$, Canadian dollar; CEA, cost-effectiveness analysis; CUA, cost-utility analysis; NR, not reported.

Table 5.

Test performance of mammographic screenings reported

PublicationSensitivity (%)Specificity (%)Recall rate (%)Source(s)
InterventionComparatorInterventionComparatorInterventionComparator
Chung et al. 2024 [13]––––9.011.8Retrospective cohort study [52]
Couto et al. 2024 [23]––––3.54.2Meta-analysis [23]
Cressman et al. 2021 [47]––––Absolute reduction of 2.2Meta-analysis [15]
Fridhammar et al. 2025 [49]––––3.62.5Prospective cohort study [19]
Kalra et al. 2016 [25]––––9.110.7Retrospective cohort study [53]
Lee et al. 2015 [24]80779288––Prospective cohort study [54]
Lowry et al. 2020 [44]84.3–96.888.2–95.876.6–91.165.5–84.3––Prospective cohort study [55, 56]
Moger et al. 2022 [48]––––4.44.3RCT [50]
Sankatsing et al. 2020 [45]18 increase––––Expert estimation and prospective cohort studies [57, 58]
Wang et al. 2020 [46]65–10065–8796.596.5––DBT performance: assumption; DM sensitivity: retrospective cohort study [59]; DM specificity: RCT [60]

[i] DBT, digital breast tomosynthesis; DM, digital mammography; RCT, randomized controlled trial.

Table 6.

Base-case cost-effectiveness results for DBT-DM

PublicationInterventionComparatorIncremental costIncremental QALYsICER (QALYs)ICER threshold (QALYs)ΔNMBICER (2023)Author’s conclusions on cost-effectiveness
Mean QALYsMean total costMean QALYsMean total cost
Chung et al. 2024 [13]22.994$7,861.122.954$7,621.7$239.40.04$5,972$33,004$1,084I$6,624Cost effective
Cressman et al. 2021 [47]NRNRNRNRC$4700.027C$17,149C$100,000C$2,230I$17,930Cost effective
Kalra et al. 2016 [25]15.5$15,31215.46$14,500$8120.04$20,300$100,000$3,188I$25,532Cost effective
Lee et al. 2015 [24]16.814$4,44016.807$4,091$3490.007$53,893$100,000$351I$70,698Cost effective
Lowry et al. 2020† [44]14,914–15,757$4.6–5.014,912–15,756$4.2–4.6$0.40–0.451.7–2.2$195,026–270,135$50,000–150,000–I$233,266–323,103Not cost effective

† Outcomes reported per 1,000 simulated women; costs presented in million.

$, US dollar; ΔNMB, incremental net monetary benefit; C$, Canadian dollar; I$, international dollars; ICER, incremental cost-effectiveness ratio; NR, not reported; QALYs, quality-adjusted life years.

Table 7.

Base-case cost-effectiveness results for DBT

PublicationInterventionComparatorIncremental costIncremental QALYsICER (QALYs)ICER threshold (QALYs)ΔNMBAuthor’s conclusions on cost-effectiveness
Mean QALYsMean total costMean QALYsMean total cost
Couto et al. 2024 [23]18.919€2,094.513.720€3,048.6–€954.025.199Dominates€7,200€38,386Cost effective (dominant)
Fridhammar et al. 2025† [49]–613.9 to –581.1€12.81–13.13–630.0€12.32€0.49–0.8016.1–48.9–€10,000–50,000–Cost effective when the relative breast cancer mortality reduction is 3.6%–10.1%
PublicationInterventionComparatorIncremental costIncremental LYsICER (LYs)ICER threshold (LYs)ΔNMBAuthor’s conclusions on cost-effectiveness
Mean LYsMean total costMean LYsMean total cost
Moger et al. 2022‡ [48]NRNRNRNR–€50,00034.8Dominates€ 22,000€815,600Cost effective (dominant)
Sankatsing et al. 2020§ [45]73€443,38567€305,829€137,5555.09€27,023 (I$43,311)€20,000–35,000–€35,755–40,650Inconclusive
Wang et al. 2020 [46]NRNRNRNRNR–76–120 (per 10,000)–€20,000–Cost-effective when sensitivity is at least 95%

† Outcomes presented for a hypothetical cohort of 100,000 women; costs presented in million.

‡ Outcomes presented per 100,000.

§ Outcomes presented per 1,000.

€, Euro; ΔNMB, incremental net monetary benefit; DBT, digital breast tomosynthesis; I$, international dollars; ICER, incremental cost-effectiveness ratio; LYs, life years; NR, not reported; QALYs, quality-adjusted life years.

Table 8.

Sensitivity analyses and primary drivers of cost-effectiveness

PublicationAnalysis typeProbability that DBT is cost-effective (%)Key parameters influencing ICERStructural uncertainty
ParameterRange varied or alternative assumption
Chung et al. 2024 [13]Deterministic and probabilistic98.5Recall rate of DBT-DM[8.1%, 9.9%] (prior literature)Shorter time horizon (10 years)
Couto et al. 2024 [23]Deterministic and probabilistic100Cancer detection rate of DMUnclear (±25% variation or 95% CI)NR
Cressman et al. 2021 [47]Deterministic and probabilistic95Recall rate reduction[1%, 7.7%] (unclear assumption)NR
Kalra et al. 2016 [25]Deterministic and probabilistic63.2Unclear–NR
Lee et al. 2015 [24]Deterministic–Adjunct DBT cost[$0, $139] (no additional cost and cost doubled)NR
Lowry et al. 2020 [44]Deterministic–Adjunct DBT cost$26 and $36 from base price of $56NR
Moger et al. 2022 [48]Deterministic and probabilistic80Unclear–Extended time horizon (20 years)
Sankatsing et al. 2020 [45]Deterministic and probabilistic36–66%DBT cost[€72, €125] (expert estimation)NR

[i] $, US dollar; €, Euro; 95% CI, 95% confidence interval; DBT, digital breast tomosynthesis; DBT-DM: DBT combined with DM; DM, digital mammography; ICER, incremental cost-effectiveness ratio; LYs, life years; NR, not reported; QALYs, quality-adjusted life years.

Table 9.

Reporting quality assessment

Study/Item No.1234567891011121314151617181920212223242526272829303132333435% yes
Chung et al. 2024 [13]YYYYYYYYUCNAYUCNYYNYYYYYYYUCNANAYYUCYYYYUCY78.1
Couto etal. 2024 [23]YYYYYYYYNAYYYNNANAYYYUCYYYYYNAYYYUCYYYYYY90.3
Cressman etal. 2021 [47]YYYYYYYYYNAYNNNANANYYYYYYYYNAYYYYYYNYYY87.1
Fridhammar et al. 2025[49]YYYYYYYYYNAYUCYNANANYYYUCYYYYNANAYYUCYYYNYY83.3
Kalra et al. 2016 [25]YYYYYYYYUCNAYNNNANANYYYYYYYYNANAYYYYYYYYY86.7
Lee et al. 2015 [24]YUCYYYYYYUCNAYYNNANANYYYYYYYYNANAYYYYYYYYY86.7
Lowry et al. 2020 [44]YYYYYYYYYNAYNNNANANYYUCYYYYYNANAYYUCYYYYYY83.3
Moger et al. 2022 [48]YYNYYYYYYNAYYYNANANYYYYYYYYNANAYYNYYYYUCY86.7
Sankatsing et al. 2020 [45]YYNYYYUCYNANAYYYNANANYYYYYYYUCNANAYYNYYYYYY82.8
Wang etal. 2020 [46]YYNYYYUCYNANYYYNANANYYNYYYYYNANAYYYYYNYYY80.0

[i] N, no; NA, not available; UC, unclear; Y, yes.

1. digital breast tomosynthesis/2537
2. (“3-D mammogra$” or “3D mammogra$” or “three dimensional mammogra$” or “3-dimensional mammogra$”).ti,ab.146
3. (tomosynthesis adj6 (breast$ or mammar$)).ti,ab.2413
4. (“3Dimensions” or “Selenia Dimensions” or “Senographe Pristina” or “VolumeRAD” or “Wide-Angle Tomosynthesis” or “Helianthus” or “ASPIRE Cristalle” or “Amulet Innovality” or “Planmed Clarity” or “Giotto Class”).ti,ab.2853
5. Health Economics/37479
6. exp Economic Evaluation/395752
7. exp Health Care Cost/373813
8. pharmacoeconomics22712
9. 5 or 6 or 7 or 8702379
10. (econom$ or cost or costs or costly or costing or price or prices or pricing or pharmacoeconomic$).ti,ab.1628716
11. (expenditure$ not energy).ti,ab.56798
12 (value adj2 money).ti,ab.3324
13 budget$.ti,ab.53134
14 10 or 11 or 12 or 131678856
15 9 or 141948472
16 letter.pt.` 1367862
17 editorial.pt.840046
18 note.pt.1011807
19 16 or 17 or 183219715
20 15 not 191823610
21 (metabolic adj cost).ti,ab.2102
22 ((energy or oxygen) adj cost).ti,ab.5543
23 ((energy or oxygen) adj expenditure).ti,ab.42102
24 21 or 22 or 2348417
25 20 not 241813783
26 animal/1714835
27 exp animal experiment/3376239
28 nonhuman/8196933
29 (rat or rats or mouse or mice or hamster or hamsters or cat or cats or bovine or sheep).ti,ab,sh.or animal or animals or dog or dogs6980972
30 26 or 27 or 28 or 2911257887
31 exp human/28645138
32 human experiment/719122
33 31 or 3228648462
34 30 not (30 and 33)7810731
35 25 not 341629519
36 1 or 2 or 3 or 46081
37 35 and 36363
1 (“3-D mammogra$” or “3D mammogra$” or “three dimensional mammogra$” or “3-dimensional mammogra$”).ti,ab.74
2 (tomosynthesis adj6 (breast$ or mammar$)).ti,ab.1861
3 (“3Dimensions” or “Selenia Dimensions” or “Senographe Pristina” or “VolumeRAD” or “Wide-Angle Tomosynthesis” or “Helianthus” or “ASPIRE Cristalle” or “Amulet Innovality” or “Planmed Clarity” or “Giotto Class”).ti,ab.3047
4 1 or 2 or 34891
5 Economics/27549
6 exp “costs and cost analysis“/279639
7 Economics, Dental/1922
8 exp economics, hospital/26225
9 Economics, Medical/9306
10 Economics, Nursing/4013
11 Economics, Pharmaceutical/3164
12 (economic$ or cost or costs or costly or costing or price or prices or pricing or pharmacoeconomic$).ti,ab.1220002
13 (expenditure$ not energy).ti,ab.41338
14 value for money.ti,ab.2399
15 budget$.ti,ab.39892
16 or/5–151392581
17 ((energy or oxygen) adj cost).ti,ab.5151
18 (metabolic adj cost).ti,ab.1893
19 ((energy or oxygen) adj expenditure).ti,ab.31483
20 or/17–1937408
21 16 not 201383880
22 exp animals/not humans/5349190
23 21 not 221296959
24 4 and 23283
1 (“3-D mammogra$” or “3D mammogra$” or “three dimensional mammogra$” or “3-dimensional mammogra$”).ti,ab.3
2 (tomosynthesis adj6 (breast$ or mammar$)).ti,ab.53
3 (“3Dimensions” or “Selenia Dimensions” or “Senographe Pristina” or “VolumeRAD” or “Wide-Angle Tomosynthesis” or “Helianthus” or “ASPIRE Cristalle” or “Amulet Innovality” or “Planmed Clarity” or “Giotto Class”).ti,ab.1
4 1 or 2 or 354
#1 ((3D NEXT mammogra*) or (3 NEXT D NEXT mammogra*) or (three NEXT dimensional NEXT mammogra*) or (3 NEXT D NEXT mammogra*)):ti,ab3
#2 ((tomosynthesis NEAR/6 breast*) or (tomosynthesis NEAR/6 mammar*)):ti,ab76
#3 (3Dimensions or “Selenia Dimensions” or “Senographe Pristina” or “VolumeRAD” or “Wide-Angle Tomosynthesis” or Helianthus or “ASPIRE Cristalle” or “Amulet Innovality” or “Planmed Clarity” or “Giotto Class”):ti,ab22
#4 #1 or #2 or #3101
(“3-D mammogram” or “3-D mammograms” or “3-D mammography” or “3-D mammographies” or “3D mammogram” or “3D mammograms” or “3D mammography” or “3D mammographies” or “three dimensional mammogram” or “three dimensional mammograms” or “three dimensional mammography” or “three dimensional mammographies” or “three-dimensional mammogram” or “three-dimensional mammograms” or “three-dimensional mammography” or “three-dimensional mammographies”) OR (tomosynthesis)1
“3-D mammogram” OR “3-D mammograms” OR “3-D mammography” OR “3-D mammographies” OR “3D mammogram” OR “3D mammograms” OR “3D mammography” OR “3D mammographies” OR “three dimensional mammogram” OR “three dimensional mammograms” OR “three dimensional mammography” OR “three dimensional mammographies” OR “three-dimensional mammogram” OR “three-dimensional mammograms” OR “three-dimensional mammography” OR “three-dimensional mammographies” OR tomosynthesis6
“3-D mammogram” | “3-D mammograms” | “3-D mammography” | “3-D mammographies” | “3D mammogram” | “3D mammograms” | “3D mammography” | “3D mammographies” | “three dimensional mammogram” | “three dimensional mammograms” | “three dimensional mammography” | “three dimensional mammographies” | “three-dimensional mammogram” | “three-dimensional mammograms” | “three-dimensional mammography” | “three-dimensional mammographies” | tomosynthesis21
DOI: https://doi.org/10.2478/abm-2026-0025 | Journal eISSN: 1875-855X | Journal ISSN: 1905-7415
Language: English
Page range: 208 - 229
Published on: Aug 31, 2026
Published by: Chulalongkorn University
In partnership with: Paradigm Publishing Services

© 2026 Supakorn Chansaengpetch, Lisa Stirk, Nigel Armstrong, published by Chulalongkorn University
This work is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.